5k The Shape Way

untitled 1`

Do it like a Diva, I like to think I’m a diva, I mean I wear make-up to the gym and color coordinate my gym outfits to match my make-up. Doesn’t that make me a diva, LOL in all seriousness as a fitness enthusiast and someone who loves to challenge herself and run I decided it would be fun to do the Shape Diva Dash. The Diva Dash is sponsored by Shape Magazine and supports an organization called Girls On The Run which teaches girls to be  joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running. The race itself is a 5k or 3.1 miles and the participants are dressed in diva fashion, from bright colors to tutus and wigs or capes these divas are dressed to kill.  From Blow up bouncy houses and borders to take pics in front of colorful buffs, temporary tattoos shape made sure their divas were ready for action. The course itself is of varied terrain, starting out on flat ground and navigating it’s way through the woods through hills and valleys, and with the rain the night before there were some slippery spots as well. Along the course there as was a variety of obstacles to get through first was a blow-up maze, the next were Monkey bars you had to walk across laterally, then there was a Swiss Ball pit that you had to walk across to get through to the other side, a contraption that was a cross between a balance beam and a see-saw that I skipped because of the height and probable cause of injury due to the fact that it was a bit slippery, then there was a net attached to ropes that you had to use to pull yourself across, hurdles, and the last obstacle which was a net you climb up and slide down what looked like a fireman’s pole. I got all the way up the net but didn’t slide down the pole because the drop looked scary.  I look at it this way did I chicken out maybe, could I have been braver, stronger, maybe but I did it. I completed most of the obstacles and got through the race. Would I do it again, no for a few reasons, I don’t think the obstacles are for me, the cost of the race and what you get for it aren’t worth the money $55 for the race and we didn’t even get a T-shirt or picture to commemorate the experience, they also gave us no info on how to find out our time or results.  I had someone come with me who told me I was 17th I am assuming there were at least 250 people there but I am not sure because they had different waves. It was an experience and I’m glad I did it but maybe next fun run I’ll try a zombie race… Nothing will get you running faster than a psycho chasing you.

Standard

Leave a Reply

